The 46. Ascending collection

Superpowers So Real You’ll Feel Like You Have Them, Too

46. Ascending is six interrelated novels about five family members who each discover they can do something extraordinary.  The stories overlap in time and can be read in any order.

The first book, One of One, is the story of telepathic Lola as she finds herself the unlikely hero in a rescue mission in Nigeria. As a lifelong empath, this sensible Texan wife and mother must come to terms with her mind-reading tendencies and in the process deal with how difficult it is to dislike others when you can feel their hopes and fears. One of One will allow you to explore the Niger Delta of Africa as you enjoy a story of very different people learning to understand one another.

The second novel, Shape of Secrets, tells of Lola’s son Zane, a misfit genius who just wants to be himself and who has always had an odd ability to alter his appearance. When he lands in the sales department of a pharmaceutical company, he is sent to the South Pacific where he must deal with unexpected dangers. Shape of Secrets will take you to tiny island nations you’ve never heard of as it immerses you in a story about being true to who you are, and the importance of finding joy in your life.

Twists of Time tells the tale of Zane’s father Alex, a man who once walked away from an ability to warp time, thinking it was only a trick to play basketball better. Alex discovers he must relearn the skill in order to protect his students at a high school that is trying to turn the clock back to an era of white supremacy. Twists of Time straddles the past and present of Central America’s Maya Civilization in a story about the nature of time, and the power of hope.

Layers of Light takes place in Darjeeling, where Alex’s youngest daughter Teddie discovers a frightening world in which young girls are bartered and sold. Her life takes an even stranger turn when an ancient group offers to train her to save others by using her innate skills for out of body experiences. Layers of Light will take you to the heights of the Himalayas in this story of courage, and of how even the most vulnerable can learn to be strong.

Flickers of Fortune tells of Teddie’s older sister Ariel, a clairvoyant young woman who ignores her visions of the future until she discovers an entire group of seers who’ve learned how to make massive profits from their knowledge. They lead her to a disturbing second group obsessed with using their talents to understand a dark future they can’t ignore. Flickers of Fortune presents the stark beauty of Iceland and Greenland in a story about honor under unexpected circumstances.

The last novel in the 46. Ascending collection, One of Two, returns to Lola’s story as she discovers another group of telepaths with a much different approach to using their powers. Soon, Lola and those close to her are in danger. The good news is she has discovered the people she loves all have special gifts of their own. The less good news is that every power they possess may not be enough to keep these others from destroying all Lola holds dear. One of Two takes Lola and her family to the tip of South America and beyond in this adventure about trust and the power of working together.


Would you like to add your thoughts? Please do.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s